Poem's About Love

Poetry 26


It was fourteen years ago I first saw you sitting on a table in the sixth form common room

A tall skinny boy with a long black coat you never parted from and a too big for you shirt

I remember my friend pointing you out to me from across the room

I didn’t recognize ever seeing you before

That was the school year, shaking like a leaf, you came to my house and asked me to prom

I thought you would ask my friend

She did to

I said yes

We arrived in a red rain-drover decorated with yellow ribbon

You gave me a rose you had made

When I posed for photo’s and you put your arm around me

Neither of us had any idea that eleven years later we would be man and wife.

By Lucy Williams

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

