Diary

Lucy’s Diary 20/05/2017


3 Years Ago Today

I got married under a willow tree hand in hand with my best friend. The Italian midday sun smiled down on us while we promised to love and be there for each other for ever more. That day was quite simply the best day of my life.

I woke up at 9:00am with the sun streaming through the windows looking up at a painting of blue sky and birds on the ceiling. I showered and snuggled into a big white fluffy dressing gown ready for my mum, sister and two friends to arrive. I flung open the glass doors letting as much of the sun and warm air in as possible. The shadows of the trees made spiky patterns on the tiled floor behind me.

I felt peaceful standing out on the balcony with my mum looking over the lush green tropical garden and the birds hopping and chirping happily from bush to tree and back again. I thought of my Grandparents no longer with us and my friend who had died only a couple of months previously and I tried to soak every scent, sight and feeling in, I never wanted to forget this day.

I was like a  Princess in my simple sleeveless fitted white dress, no fussy veil or train for me. I slipped a blue and white garter my mum had worn almost thirty years previously on her wedding day up my leg, I  stuck pearl earrings in my ears and wound around my wrist a pearl necklace that had been my Grandma’s which my Granddad had given me after her death and I put a white flower in my long blonde hair straightened by my sister.

Clutching a bouquet of white roses, my favorite flower, I made my way down the stairs carefully in my white and silver shoes to the hotel entrance where my dad was waiting for me. I saw his face light up when he saw his daughter in her wedding dress for the first time. We walked the five minutes to the venue in an organised procession. Myself first, arm in arm with my dad, followed by my two bridesmaids, my mum and my friend/photographer. Cars beeped their horns and passerby’s called their congratulations out as we made our way to the venue where the wedding planner was waiting with a big smile on her face.

I remember my friend whispering “look at the groom” just before the musicians started playing and we started down the aisle. I looked and he was smiling the biggest smile and I kept looking at him my entire journey down the green carpet. There are just some photographs that you keep in your mind and you know you will treasure them even on the darkest of days.

Thank you everyone who made this day truly special.

By Lucy Williams

Karen and Jon (258)

 

Leave a Reply

